MCA Council

Music Council Of Australia Board of Directors PDF Print E-mail

The term for the position concludes in year shown.


DEAN ORMSTON (2015) Deputy Chair

IAN HARVEY (2014) (Secretary/Treasurer



Contact the MCA Board and Councillors via MCA Administration

Music Council of Australia Councillors PDF Print E-mail

The MCA is a 50-member national peak music organisation for Australia. Its members include nominees of major national music organisations, and distinguished individuals expert in various aspects of music. The membership structure is designed to ensure representation from a broad range of musical genres, the various levels of music education, and the many ways of documenting music and bringing it before its audiences.


Australasian Performing Right Association Ltd/Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners Society Ltd (APRA/AMCOS): DEAN ORMSTON, Company Secretary and Head of Corporate Affairs. ( NSW)

Australian Music Centre: JOHN DAVIS, GM. (NSW)

Australian Music Examinations Board (AMEB): MIKE TYLER, Chair, Federal Board and Queensland Advisory Committee; Principal Education Officer (The Arts), Queensland Department of Education. (QLD)

Australian Music Industry Network: DENISE FOLEY, Director. EO, Q Music. (QLD)

Australian Music Therapy Association: ROB MCGRIGOR, (QLD)

Australian National Choral Association: TBA

Australian Society for Music Education (ASME): JUDITH HALDANE, Vice-President. (WA)

Australian Youth Music Council (AYMC): JEHAN KANGA, Secretary. (NSW)

Australian Youth Orchestras (AYO): TBA

International Association of Music Libraries (Australian Branch) (IAML) /Australasian Sound Recordings Association (ASRA): TBA

Musica Viva Australia: MARY JO CAPPS, CEO. (NSW)

Musicians’ Union of Australia: TERRY NOONE, Federal Secretary. (VIC)

National Council of Tertiary Music Schools (NACTMUS): TBA



Early Childhood Education: (2014) Dr ALEKSANDRA ACKER, Lecturer, School of Education, RMIT, Melbourne. (VIC)

Private Music Instruction: (2014) JODY HEALD, President, Tasmanian Music Teachers’ Association, National Chairman Australasian Piano Pedagogy Conference Association Inc. (TAS)

School Music Education: (2016) JANE LAW, music education consultant, former school principal, Department of Education, NSW. (NSW)


Composition: (2015) Dr DANIEL BLINKHORN, award-winning composer, (NSW)

Brass and Concert Bands: (2015) JEREMY DE KORTE, Dandenong High School strings teacher, conductor (VIC)

Computer Music, Multimedia: (2014) Dr ANDREW BROWN, Queensland Conservatorium, Griffith University. (QLD)

Contemporary Classical Performance: (2016) DR. VANESSA TOMLINSON. Head of Percussion, Queensland Conservatorium, Griffith University. Artistic Advisor, Clocked Out Ensemble (QLD)

Country Music: (2015) LUKE O’SHEA, award-winning musician, teacher, writer, presenter. 2012 Urban Country Music Festivals Official Ambassador (VIC)

Folk Music: TBA

Indigenous Music: (2014) JESSIE LLOYD, CEO/Artistic Director, Songlines Aboriginal Corporation. (VIC)

Jazz: (2014) JOANNE KEE, Director, Ceres Solutions, Sound Travellers, places + spaces. Board Member, Sydney Fringe Festival. (NSW)

Opera and Music Theatre: (2014) TIMOTHY SEXTON, CEO and Artistic Director, State Opera of South Australia. (SA)

Popular Music: (2014) CLARE BOWDITCH, singer, songwriter, band leader. (VIC)

Professional Orchestras: (2015). KATE LIDBETTER, CEO, Symphony Services International (NSW)

World Music: TBA


Community Music Development: TBA

For-Profit Music Industry: TBA

International Promotion: (2014) MICHAEL SMELLIE, businessman, former Global COO, Sony/BMG. (NSW)

Legal and Copyright: (2015) NATHAN SHEPHERD, solicitor, Allens, Jazz and world musician. (NSW)

Music Broadcasting (public): (2014) GRAEME HINCKLEY, Development and Operations Manager, ABC Classic FM (SA)

Music Broadcasting (Community or Commercial): (2016) CHRIS JOHNSON, Manager, Australian Music Radio Airplay Project (AMRAP), Community Broadcasting Association of Australia. (NSW)

Music Criticism/Journalism: (2013) TBA

Music in Creative Industries: (2016) Prof. PHIL GRAHAM, Head of Discipline, Music and Sound, Creative Industries Faculty, QUT (QLD)

Music in Film and Television: (2014) ART PHILLIPS, screen composer, immediate Past President, Australian Guild of Screen Composers (NSW)

Music Management: (2014) CATHERINE HARIDY. Catherine Haridy Management. Chair, Association of Artist Managers.(VIC)

Music Publishing: TBA

Policy: TBA

Record Industry: (2016) NICK O’BYRNE, GM, Australian Independent Record Labels Association (AIR) (VIC)

Record Industry: (2014) VANESSA HUTLEY, GM, Music Rights Australia Pty Ltd (NSW)

Research: (2016) Dr BRYDIE-LEIGH BARTLEET, Senior Lecturer, Research and Music Literature, Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University (QLD)

Venues or Festivals: TBA


Special Member: (2015) Dr. DAWN BENNETT. Senior Research Fellow, Curtin University (WA)

Special Member: (2014) MICHAEL HUTCHINGS, Indigenous Music Officer, APRA (NSW)

Special Member: (2015) STEPHEN GREEN, Managing Director, SGC New Media Marketing P/L, Board, Q Music, and Music Industry Community Services. (QLD)

Special Member: (2014) IAN HARVEY, Director, Morton Group (sales and marketing consultancy). (VIC)

Special Member: TBA

Special Member: TBA

Australian Youth Music Council PDF Print E-mail

Membership 2011-12

Michael Sollis (Chair)

Kellie Wilson (Vice Chair)

Jehan Kanga (Secretary)

Rowan Brand (Treasurer)

Andrew Stone

George Jackson

James “Jimblah” Alberts

Erinn Swan

Details of these councillors can be found on the AYMC's website.